Hockey Club Retain Chairmans' Trophy

Hockey Club Retain Chairmans' Trophy

By James Wheeler
19 September
Share via

The 12th annual Ryder Cup style =match between the Cricket and Hockey teams took place this week in the sumptuous surroundings of Ashridge Golf Club.

On a beautiful morning the two teams of 12 players set out from a two tee start in singles matches. The undoubted star of the morning session was Ash Haw who secured a whopping 9&8 win in his match to put an early cricket club point on the board.

There were also wins for Mark Avery, Gareth Darby and Paul Orton during the morning session with Geoff Cox also securing a half in his match, it left the Cricket Club trailing 7.5 – 4.5 ahead of the afternoon fourballs.

After some light refreshment the fourballs began and the cricket club suffered a hammer blow when Mark Avery and Gary Evans were defeated on the 18th hole, defeat also followed in the next match which left the Hockey team needing just one more point for victory.

Ash Haw and Richard Murphy kept the cricketers in the game with a two hole win but with three matches left out on course things looked tough. Hopes were raised when Simon Stanway and Gareth Darby raced into a four hole lead, but back came the Hockey pairing of Ken Lee and Keith Stokes on the back nine and a half up the 18th meant the game ended All Square and the Chairmans Trophy stayed in Hockey Club hands.

Dream pairing Geoff Cox and Andy Grout brought home a consolation win by 5 & 3 but the final score was 14.5 – 9.5 to the Hockey Club.

Massive thanks to Gareth Darby, Richard Sharp and Ken Lee for their continued organisation of this great event and to Adam, Claudia and the bar and catering team for feeding us after golf.

Cricket Team
Mark Avery
Guy Masters
Simon Stanway,
Dick Highton
Gareth Darby
Gary Evans
Andy Grout
Ash Haw
Richard Murphy
Paul Orton
Geoff Cox
Dan Plumeridge

Hockey Team
Richard Sharp
Steve Marshall
Ken Lee
Keith Stokes
Matt Laurenson
Steve Collins
James Collins
Julian Bamford
Greg Edwards
Colin Matthews
Adrian Mills
Simon Head

Share via